Read Your Own Horoscope: A Step-By-Step Tutorial to Vedic Astrology

Under the guidance of Pt. Punarvasu, Indastro has been serving astrology patrons since 2001. Backed by years of experience and unique insights from ancient books & sources that are 1500 to 5500 years old, this free Vedic astrology tutorial has been put together with an objective of helping people better their lives. These free lessons from Indastro will help you read your own horoscope. For which you must keep the following points in mind:

  • Go step by step. Until you have mastered one step, do not move to the next.
  • Do not just read, but apply these principles on your own horoscope
  • In the begining, just pay attention to just reading and analyzing a birth chart, rather can drafting one.
  • Go in the same order of lessons as is provided here.
  • Practice and more practice.

Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra

The Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is the twelfth Nakshatra in the series of the lunar constellations or Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology. The first quarter or pada of this Nakshatra falls under the zodiac sign of Leo and the last three quarters fall under the sign of Virgo.

The word Uttara means later or latter and the complete word Uttara Phalguni translates to latter red one or fig tree. With the combined effect of Leo and Virgo, this Nakshatra is about individuality and having a practical and realistic approach towards life.

Symbol: Rear legs of a bed or cot

The symbol of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is rear legs of a bed or cot or a hammock, which signifies eternal rest, and peace of mind. People generally feel protected in the company of the person born in this Nakshatra. He/she will be an important person in the society and many people will follow them due to their noble reputation.

Knowing the Characteristics

People born under Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra are kind, generous and have a majestic appearance. They have a friendly nature and place a lot of importance on family and relationships. They are known for their caring, sincere and reliable nature. They are graceful, dignified and possess great organizational abilities with a strong emphasis on ethics. They have an innate love for humanity and take initiatives for the larger good of the society.

To know which Nakshatra you have been born into, sign up so that you can find it out and then go through the descriptive details, to know yourself better.

Know in detail about Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra:

Translation  Latter reddish one
Symbol  Rear legs of a bed, hammock
Animal Symbol  Bull
Presiding Deity  Aryaman (one of the Adityas or Sun God)
Controlling/Ruling Planet  Sun
Ruling Deity of the Planet  Shiva
The 4 Quarters of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra  
1st quarter  Ruled by Jupiter
2nd quarter  Ruled by Saturn
3rd quarter  Ruled by Saturn
4th quarter  Ruled by Jupiter
Nature  Manushya (human)
Mode  Balanced
Number  12
Gender  Female
Dosha  Vata
Guna  Rajasic
Element  Fire
Disposition  Dhruva (fixed, permanent)
Bird  Beetle
Common Name of the Tree  Rose laurel
Botanical Name of the Tree  Ficus microcarpa
Seed Sounds  Te, To, Pa, Pe.


The Ruling Planet of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra (Graha Devta) – Sun

Graha Devta is the one who gives the ability to understand the nature of the planet so that we can work based on that planet in our chart. Based on Vedic Astrology, the Graha Devta or Ruling Planet for the Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is the Sun, which blesses the natives of this Nakshatra with courage and leadership skills. They have a good lineage, fertility and get happiness from their children. A career in politics, or as an advisor, professor, head-priest and sports coach will be good.

The energy source of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra (Adhi Devta): Aryaman

The Adhi Devta gives mental clarity about the ruling planet and through them, we can come in contact with the divine energy source of the planet. The Adhi devta of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is Aryaman. Aryaman is the God who provides support, stability, commitments, and resources to protect our nature. Aryaman is the most important among the ancestors and signifies Dharma and duty-bound nature. Natives having moon in the Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra will be self-reliant, disciplined and adhere to the rules and laws of the society.

Presiding Deity of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra (Pratyadi Devta): Shiv in the form of Shivaling

Pratyadi Devta helps us understand the function of the Nakshatra and the planet in our birth chart, and has total command over the functions related to the Nakshatras placed in the birth chart. The presiding deity of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is Shiva linga. This Nakshatra is good to start any official contract, new business, tying a knot of new relationships under the blessings of Lord Shiva. The animal symbol of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is the Bull.

Gender: Female

Gender of any Nakshatra is used in Vedic astrology for matchmaking but if we deeply analyze this, we come to know a rather fascinating fact that the gender signifies our mental inclination towards material things and how we manipulate life’s challenges for our survival.

The gender of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is female and natives of this Nakshatra place a lot of value on relationships.

Dosha: Vata

Dosha represents which type of disease will affect the native. Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra natives are dominated by Vata. Vata governs the movement in the body and the process of thinking ability. Natives with a strong Moon in Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra will have good mental strength and a healthy and energetic body. Regular physical exercise is beneficial for natives of this Nakshatra.

Guna: Rajas

In Indian philosophy, there are three Gunas, known as - Sattwa, Rajas, and Tamas. These are known as the three processes that build a successful life. The guna of Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is Rajas which indicate the ‘king-like’ temperament of the natives of this Nakshatra. They like to be in commanding position and desire material success.

Element: Fire

Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is governed by the Fire element, which signifies transformation in the lives of the natives born in this Nakshatra. Benefic planetary placements in the birth chart indicate smooth transformation process whereas malefic effect indicates painful transformative process. Fire element also signifies energy and willpower in the native for completion of goals.

Bird: Beetle

Birds are the highly spiritual creatures, which came into life to give us the message from the universe. Each Nakshatra has a particular bird symbol, which shows us that the energy related to that bird is residing within us related to that particular constellation/Nakshatra. The bird symbolic to Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra is Beetle. As per Vedic mythology, Bhringi was one of the beetles in the Shiv Puran, who was a great devotee of Lord Shiva. However, he wanted to worship Shiva separately. Goddess Parvati and Shiva are not different entities and to teach this lesson to Bringhi, Shiva and Parvati took the form of Ardhnareshwra. Each mythology has hidden meaning, which can be decoded through knowledge and spiritual practice. Through this story, the natives born in the Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra should understand the importance of unity and selfless love.

First letter for naming Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra born baby - Te, To, Pa, Pe.

The first letter of the name also produces a vibration, which is connected with the individual, as per the Vedas. It is advisable to choose a name with the letter that creates harmony between the human and the Universe, so that the native gets every happiness and success, promised in his birth chart. This is akin to us coming in the network coverage area of the Nakshatra we are born under, and thus getting a proper signal from it, which helps us rejuvenate and connect better with the world.

The first letter for a baby born in Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra could be Te, To, Pa, Pe.