• Live Support (9:30 AM – 6:00 PM IST)
  • ccare@indastro.com
  • +91-11-24654365

Product Cart:
Subtotal (0 items):

Your Cart is empty.

Pushya Nakshatra

The Pushya Nakshatra is the eighth in the series of the lunar constellations or Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology. It falls under the zodiac sign of Cancer, hence all four quarters or padas of this Nakshatra fall under the sign of Cancer.

The word Pushya means to provide or to nourish and nurture and this pretty much sums up the essence of this Nakshatra. It refers to the ability to thrive and signifies being a protector. It is considered to be a highly auspicious Nakshatra and is all about caring and giving to the humanity regardless of any differences.

Symbol: Cow’s udders

The symbol of the Pushya Nakshatra is cow’s udders. The Cow is considered to be highly sacred in the Vedic tradition and revered for its fertility and productivity. It provides nourishment without any discrimination and is unconditionally benevolent and harmless. Similarly, individuals having moon in Pushya Nakshatra are very kind and caring, not only towards their loved ones but also towards the humanity as a whole. They also receive a lot of affection and care from their family and everyone around them. They are very warm, courteous and possess a charitable nature.

Knowing the Characteristics

People born under Pushya nakshatra are very gentle, softhearted and truthful. They are very pure at heart, generous and maintain a calm and composed disposition. At times, these people take all the pain and burden of others on their shoulders without any expectations, which can at times lead to stress and frustration. They are very decent, hospitable and protective of their loved ones as they have a strong sense of home, family and the community. They are great at providing emotional support and have a lot of admirers because of these qualities. However, if there are afflicted planets in this Nakshatra in your birth chart, you could be lazy, lethargic, dependent and prone to addictions due to no self-control.

To know which Nakshatra you have been born into, sign up so that you can it find it out and then go through the descriptive details, to know yourself better.

Know in detail about Pushya Nakshatra

  Translation   "to nourish and nurture”
  Symbol   Cow’s udders
  Animal Symbol   Goat
  Presiding Deity   Brihaspati, priest of Gods
  Controlling/Ruling Planet   Saturn
  Ruling Deity of Saturn   Hanuman
  The 4 Quarters of Pushya Nakshatra  
  1st quarter   Ruled by Sun
  2nd quarter   Ruled by Mercury
  3rd quarter   Ruled by Venus
  4th quarter   Ruled by Mars
  Nature   Deva (God-like)
  Mode   Passive
  Number   8
  Gender   Male
  Dosha   Pitta
  Guna   Tamasic
  Element   Water
  Disposition   Light and swift
  Bird   Crow
  Common Name of the Tree   Peepal
  Botanical Name of the Tree   Fig Ficus religiosa
  Seed Sounds   Hu, He, Ho, Da.


Ruling Planet of Pushya Nakshatra (Graha Devta) – Saturn

Graha Devta is the one who gives the ability to understand the nature of the planet so that we can work based on that planet in our chart. Based on Vedic Astrology, the Graha Devta or Ruling Planet for the Pushya Nakshatra is Saturn which imparts the quality of patience, commitment and practicality in the natives of this Nakshatra. They are spiritual, disciplined and remain dedicated towards their goals.

Energy source of Pushya Nakshatra (Adhi Devta): Brihaspati

The Adhi Devta gives mental clarity about the ruling planet and through them, we can come in contact with the divine energy source of the planet. The Adhi devta of Pushya Nakshatra is Brihaspati, which blesses the native with a strong sense of morality, ethics, good relationships, happiness from children and knowledge. Pushya born natives are philanthropic and interested in supporting humanitarian causes.

Presiding Deity of Pushya Nakshatra (Pratyadi Devta): Dattatreya

Pratyadi Devta helps us understand the function of the Nakshatra and the planet in our birth chart, and has total command over the functions related to the Nakshatras placed in the birth chart. Any form of deity, which is related to guru or the teacher, like Dattatreya, Dakshinamurthy, or goddess Saraswati should be worshiped by the natives born in Pushya Nakshatra to get the desired results in life.

Gender: Male

Gender of any Nakshatra is used in Vedic astrology for matchmaking but if we deeply analyze this, we come to know a rather fascinating fact that the gender signifies our mental inclination towards material things and how we manipulate life’s challenges for our survival. The gender of Pushya Nakshatra is male which signifies that the native will be courageous, persevering and capable of giving protection.

Dosha: Pitta

Dosha represents which type of disease will affect the native. Pushya Nakshatra natives shall be dominated by Pitta. Pitta represents the metabolism in the body and has the characteristic of transformation of food and water into energy through digestion. If the Moon of Pushya Nakshatra native is strong in the personal birth chart, he/she will have a healthy body and mind and good mental growth but if afflicted, then the native will suffer from thyroid or digestion-related disorders.

Guna: Tamas

In Indian philosophy, there are three Gunas, known as - Sattwa, Rajas, and Tamas. These are known as the three processes that build a successful life. The guna of Pushya Nakshatra is Tamas which could make the native short-tempered, irreligious and having inferiority complex which could result in low self-esteem.

Element: Water

Pushya nakshatra has the Water element, which signifies that the natives born in this Nakshatra shall have a good memory and retention and good learning abilities. Water element also signifies that the natives of this Nakshatra are empathetic and compassionate but could also be prone to mood swings

Bird: Crow

Birds are the highly spiritual creatures, which came into life to give us the message from the universe. Each Nakshatra has a particular bird symbol which shows us that the energy related to that bird is residing within us related to that particular constellation/Nakshatra. The bird symbolic to Pushya nakshatra is the Crow. Crow signifies wisdom and intelligence, which is present in the natives of Pushya nakshatra along with maturity and effective decision-making abilities.

First letter for naming a Pushya Nakshatra born baby – Hu, He, Ho, Da

The first letter of the name also produces a vibration, which is connected with the individual, as per the Vedas. It is advisable to choose a name with the letter that creates harmony between the human and the Universe, so that the native gets every happiness and success, promised in his birth chart. This is akin to us coming in the network coverage area of the Nakshatra we are born under, and thus getting a proper signal from it, which helps us rejuvenate and connect better with the world. The first letter for a baby born in Pushya Nakshatra could be Hu, He, Ho, Da.

Swati Nakshatra

Read More

Vishakha Nakshatra

Read More