Vedic Tutorial

Read your own horoscope: A step-by-step tutorial to Vedic astrology

Under the guidance of Pt. Punarvasu, Indastro has been serving astrology patrons since 2001. Backed by years of experience and unique insights from ancient books & sources

  • Go step by step. Until you have mastered one step, do not move to the next.
  • Do not just read, but apply these principles on your own horoscope
  • In the begining, just pay attention to just reading and analyzing a birth chart, rather can drafting one.

Houses in Vedic astrology

Understanding the houses in Vedic astrology

The celestial sphere is divided into 12 equal parts of 30 degrees each. Each of which represents a zodiac sign. There are 12 different signs. Wherever you are born on earth, there is a local horizon, the line where earth and the sky meet. The whole zodiac belt seems to ascend from eastern horizon and descend to the western horizon due to the daily rotation of earth around its own axis. At a particular place and time of birth, the exact point or the degree of the sign that is rising on the eastern side of the horizon is considered to be the starting point of the houses division, it is also the Ascendant. This is because Sun rises from the east and the rising of Sun means new beginning.

Now note that you can only see 6 houses at any location on the earth as rest of the houses are below the horizon. From the starting point on the eastern side, the 1st house is followed by the rest of the houses in anti-clockwise motion so you never get to see the 1st to 6th houses in the skies. The point which is exactly above your head right now is the starting point of the 10th house for someone born right at this moment at your location. The point that lies on the horizon on the west is from where the 7th house begins. 4th house begins from the point which is exactly opposite to the point of 10th house, so naturally it is not visible in the sky as it is below the horizon.

The 1st, 4th, 7th and 10th houses are the pillars upon which the strength of the horoscope depends. These are the four pillars of your horoscope, lying on the horizon and meridian plane. These are called Angular or Kendra houses. Each house governs some particular aspects of your life. The anti-clockwise motion of the houses also symbolizes your lifecycle, starting from the first house that represents birth and personality to the 12th house which stands for death and emancipation.

The placement of different planets in houses based on their movement in the sky at the time of birth tells which aspect of your life is being affected & how. These houses not only govern your life but also tell a lot about your friends, family and relatives.  

The very basis of interpreting a horoscope is about understanding the connection between houses and the signs and how the planets influence this connection. The detailed overview of each house and the dimensions of your life covered by each one of them is covered in the subsequent pages.  

    • 5, 10 & 20 Year Report
    • Find out events, opportunities & challenges for that period
    • Career & finances, family & children, love, relationships & marriage
    • The harbinger of luck
    • Is a slow moving yet the biggest planet of the solar system
    • Thus its transit is sure to have a stronger impact on your life.
    • Plan career & overcome hurdles
    • Move ahead in suitable areas of work
    • Use favourable periods for Career Progress
    • Career Predictions or ask your questions

Your first Horoscope Analysis for

  • Deciphering your nature & explanation of who you are & how you think
  • Interpretation & analysis of all 9 planets upon you.
  • Crucial clues to your Career, Relationship & Money
Male Female
Experience the unmatched Free Reading of Indastro now

Life Fortune & Karma Reading

Understanding Karma & Freewill: Karma refers to the flow of events which are pre destined and one has no control over them. Freewill refers to the trends & events which you can take in your control by certain Freewill decisions that you take to abide the Karmic trends with grace and at the same time to avert damages that could have been caused while your Karmic trends are prevailing...Read more